Celebrating the 10th Anniversary of The Power of One Dedicated Woman

    In 2024, Michigan Community Resources, in partnership with esteemed activist Dotti Sharp, is pleased to present our 10th Anniversary of The Power of One Dedicated Woman Awards.

    Since 2015, we have hosted The Power of One Dedicated Womana unique, multi-pronged initiative to elevate the stories and invest in the capacity of unsung leaders across Detroit neighborhoods.

    These women deserve not only to be acknowledged and for their stories to be told, but to be supported above and beyond what they need to lead positive change in their communities.

    Nominations for 2024 awards are now open! Completed nomination forms must be submitted by 11:59 p.m. on Wednesday, May 8, 2024, for consideration.

    Rakisha - baton

    2022 Honoree Rakisha Odom holding up her award.

    Award Criteria

    This award is for all women: cisgender (women who were assigned female at birth), transgender (women who were assigned male at birth), and nonbinary people who are comfortable in a space that centers the experiences of women. Recipients will be selected based on the following criteria:

    • Identifies with above description
    • Over age 18
    • Resident of the city of Detroit
    • Shares her time, talent, and treasure to improve her Detroit community
    • Her efforts have gone unsung (largely unrecognized by mainstream media, the public, and through traditional awards)
    • Open to receiving no-cost support services and resources from MCR and our partners to support her work in the community, along with other honoree benefits
    Read more about who can be nominated and submit a nomination.

    Congratulations to our 2023 Honorees:

    Darnetta Banks

    Sharon Kilgore

    Michelle Knight

    Juanita Maxwell

    Tyra Moore

    Bonnie Whittaker

    Thank You to Our 2023 Award Sponsors:

    2023 Sponsor logos

    Past Honorees:

    Asiya El
    Alyce Hartman
    Tammara Howard
    Brittni Kellom
    Lorraine Sheffield
    Rakisha Odom
    RuShann Long
    Rhonda Theus
    Myaia Holmes
    Kelly Roper
    Kathleen Hurd
    Karen Washington
    Yvonne Gibbs
    Claudia Enriquez
    Theresa Landrum
    Jasmine Mahone
    Joyce Moore
    Sandra White
    Stevie Baka
    Sonja Hill
    Latisha Johnson
    Shiva Shahmir
    Betty Varner
    Dawn Wilson-Clark
    Barbara Martin
    Karen Knox
    Rachel Ullah
    Star Roland
    Stephanie Harbin
    Tenai Leali
    Aleasa M. Peatross-Smith
    Dell Stubblefield
    Deysi Martinez
    Mary Jo Smith
    Sandra Pickens
    Sonia Renia Brown
    Barbara Matney
    Charlotte Blackwell
    Denise Kennedy
    Elois Moore
    Marissa Mewitz
    Michelle Jackson
    Barbara Harding
    Jackie Perkins
    Lenora Hall
    Phillis Judkins
    Shirley Rankin
    Jacqueline Conley